Meaning of Zodiac

What is the Zodiac?
The Zodiac , in Astronomy , is an area of the firmament through which the Ecliptic passes (in general terms, the curved line that apparently runs through the Sun as seen from Earth).

In this zone, besides the Sun and the planets, between 13 and 14 constellations are included. The word 'Zodiac' comes from the Latin zodiăcus, and this one from the Greek ζῳδιακός ( zoon-diakos , wheel of animals). It is written with an initial capital letter as indicated by the RAE.

In Astrology , the Zodiac is divided into 12 equal parts, each part corresponding to a constellation that is identified with a sign.

Signs of the zodiac
In many parts of the world, especially in the West, the Zodiac is associated with 12 signs , based on Babylonian culture, Ancient Egypt and Greek mythology. The constellations are interpreted with the following signs:

Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

In 1930 the International Astronomical Union established that the constellation of Ophiuchus or Serpentarium is located in the zone of the Zodiac. However, in traditional astrology based on the Babylonian culture it is not usually considered as a zodiac sign.

The Zodiac and the horoscope
In astrology, the horoscope is a traditional method of predicting the future and character of a person based on the sign of the zodiac attributed by the date of birth. In Western popular culture, it is common to find television programs and sections of newspapers and magazines dedicated to talking about horoscopes and zodiacal signs. Although the interpretation of the signs of the Zodiac is followed by many people, there is no scientific basis.

The Zodiac according to Chinese culture
In the Chinese zodiac, the 12 constellations refer to 12 animals. Each year corresponds to a sign. These signs are: the Rat, the Ox, the Tiger, the Rabbit, the Dragon, the Serpent, the Horse, the Goat, the Monkey, the Rooster, the Dog and the Pig. It is based on a story in which Buddha summons all the animals of the earth and only these 12 animals are presented.

The Zodiac according to the Mayan culture
The Mayan calendar contemplated cycles of 20 solar days, each associated with a symbol. However, some names associated with the zodiac constellations are also identified. There are several interpretations of the icons and names assigned. One of them would contemplate these zodiacal signs: the Turtle, the Bat, the Serpent, the Jaguar, the Scorpion, the Deer, the Owl, the Peacock, the Monkey, the Dog, the Hare, the Falcon and the Lizard.

The Zodiac according to the Aztec culture
The signs of the Zodiac of the Aztec culture seem to be based on the Maya and, likewise, they are subject to several interpretations. One of them would include the following signs: the Cayman, the House, the Serpent, the Roe Deer, the Rabbit, the Dog, the Monkey, the Reed, the Jaguar, the Eagle, the Flint and the Flower.